U of M Law Professor Honored by National Election-Reform, Voting-Rights Group

Steven Mulroy, professor of law at the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law at the University of Memphis, has been chosen one of the inaugural recipients of the Democracy Innovator Award presented by the sponsoring organization, FairVote.

Mulroy’s co-honorees were U.S. Senator Bill Nelson of Florida; Jamie Raskin, Maryland state senator, professor of law at American University, and a leading scholar in the field of election law; and Sheila Hixson, also of Maryland.

Mulroy was selected based on his record of leadership on the issue of instant runoff voting and his work as a lawyer and writer on behalf of voting rights.

A U of M law professor since 2000, Mulroy teaches constitutional law and civil rights, as well as courses in criminal law and procedure. He has written many articles on voting rights and election law. He also serves as a Shelby County Commissioner, elected to that body in 2006.

FairVote is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization that promotes reforms of the American electoral process. Some of their goals are universal voter registration, advance voter registration and civics education for 16-year-olds, instant runoff voting for one-seat elections, a national popular vote plan for presidential elections, and proportional voting and redistricting reform for legislative elections.